Skip to content

How to Control Your Twitterverse

January 31, 2013

You’ve finally signed yourself or company up for Twitter. You’ve figured out what a Tweet is. Now you feel you’re ready to conquer the Twitterverse. Read below to find out how to manage your connections and control your Twitterverse!

How to unfollow users on Twitter

Are you sick and tired of a company or person who constantly is Tweeting about the same thing or you are just tired of seeing them on your home timeline? It’s easy to change that, stop following them.

Follow

In order to stop following their every move, the quickest way is to unfollow from the user’s profile page. Go to the profile page of the company or person you wish to unfollow. You will see a blue button near the top of the page that says Following, if you hover over this button it will turn red and say Unfollow. Click on this button and you’re done.

Unfollow

If there are multiple people or companies that you’d like to unfollow. Use the following method instead. Click on “Following” on your homepage or profile page. Find the person or company you wish to unfollow on your list. You will see a blue button next to them that says Following, if you hover over this button it will turn red and say Unfollow. Click on this button and you’re done.

*It’s important not to unfollow too many people at once, because that sends a red flag to Twitter and could get your account suspended or deleted.

Following

Users will not be notified that you unfollowed them. If they review their followers on a frequent basis they will be able to see that you are no longer on their followers list.

As long as the account is not protected you will still be able to visittheir profile page and read their Tweets; however, you will no longer see their Tweets on your home timeline.

Whether their account is protected or not, if you are no longer following the user  you will not be able to send private messages also called direct messages (DM). You can only send a DM on Twitter if you are following the person or company you wish to DM and they are following you.

How to report users on Twitter

If the account is more than just annoying and posting harmful or illegal links they should be reported to Twitter. In order to report a user or company, go to their profile. Select Report from the dropdown menu of the person icon on their profile page. When you report a user they will be blocked from following you and replying to any of your Tweets. Twitter will be notified and review their account.

Report

How to block users on Twitter

In order to block a user on Twitter, go to the profile page of the person or company you would like to block (just type in “twitter.com/username” in the address bar of your browser). Select Block from the dropdown menu of the person icon on their profile page.

Block

What happens when you block a user on Twitter?

A blocked user on Twitter cannot add your account to any of their lists or follow you. They also can’t see your profile picture on your profile page or on their timeline. A notification will not be sent to the user once you have blocked them; however, they may notice they are no longer seeing your Tweets.

What happens if you accidentally blocked a user on Twitter?

If you have blocked a user and changed your mind, you can unblock them. Go to the profile of the user or company you blocked and select “Unblock” from the person icon dropdown menu on their profile page.

How to remove yourself or company from a list

If another Twitter user has added you to a list that you don’t want to be on, block the user. For example if someone has a list of users to unfollow, you and/or your company won’t want to be on that list.

Have questions about Twitter? Leave them in the comments section below and we’ll do our best to explain.

Unit next time,

Alix
Miss Mediosa – Social Media Management

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: